Find your recipes and restaurants here

Terroir Wine Awards National Winners

The 2011 awards for site-specific wines were announced last week.

30 Jul 2011
Wilhelm Coetzee & Martin Moore (Durbanville Hills

After a record 251 entries for the sixth annual Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards, five wine cellars stood out with two National Winners each, Doolhof, Durbanville Hills, Hermanuspietersfontein, Jordan and Welbedacht. Only wines certified as a single vineyard wine, an estate produced wine or from a specific ward can participate, hence the term SA Terroir Wine Awards. For the first time ever the Novare Trophy for the SA Terroir Top Wine Estate was awarded to the wine estate that performed exceptionally well with finalist wines and National Winners. The Top Wine Estate Trophy was awarded to Jordan Wine Estate from the Polkadraai Hills ward in the Stellenbosch District, owned by Gary and Kathy Jordan.

The second Novare Trophy for the SA Terroir Top Wine Area was awarded to the Durbanville ward. Besides three National Winners, 16 of the wines selected for the final round came from the same ward. The main contributors for the Top Wine Area Trophy being awarded to Durbanville, were Durbanville Hills, Klein Roosboom, Meerendal, Nitida, De Grendel, Altydgedacht and De Vallei.

 “Since this competition was started six years ago, we have received record entries year after year, which truly shows that there will always be a place to praise those wines that are created with grapes from a specific wine growing area” says project leader Marius Labuschagne. “The results each year also show the diversity of South Africa’s many wine terroirs and the wide variety of quality that is grown and vinified in many different areas. Few countries can compete with us when it comes to producing high quality wines in all styles from all cultivars,”

“The 2011 Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards has yet again provided an unparalleled opportunity for Novare to invest in skills development by honouring the wines which truly portray South Africa’s different terroirs and those who labour in love to create them. In line with Novare’s philosophy of continuous innovation and progressive prosperity we have extended our sponsorship of these prestigious awards to not only honour the Top Wine Area but also to award the Top Wine Estate for 2011,” says Johan Henn, CEO of the sponsor Novare.

Most entries were Sauvignon Blanc (35), followed by Shiraz (28), Cabernet Sauvignon (24), Chardonnay (23), Red Blends (23) and Pinotage (22). The 2011 judges were Altus le Roux, Andrea Freeborough, Dave Hughes, David Biggs, Erika Obermeyer, Guy Webber and Pierre Marais.  The technical coordinator is Charl Theron. Results were audited by Novare’s account department. For the full results visit

2011 SA Terroir Wine Awards National Winners
Top Chenin Blanc:  Welbedacht Barrel Fermented Chenin Blanc 2005
Top Pinotage: Welbedacht Pinotage 2009
Top Sauvignon Blanc: Durbanville Hills Biesjes Craal Sauvignon Blanc 2009
Top Rosé: Durbanville Hills Merlot Rosé 2011
Top White Blend: Hermanuspietersfontein Die Bartho 2010
Top Cabernet Franc: Hermanuspietersfontein Swartskaap 2009
Top Chardonnay: Jordan Nine Yards Chardonnay 2009
Top Riesling: Jordan Riesling 2009
Top Petit Verdot: Signatures of Doolhof Petit Verdot 2009
Top Malbec: Signatures of Doolhof Malbec 2009
Top Viognier: Beau Constantia Cecily 2010
Top Gewürztraminer: Neethlingshof Gewürztraminer 2011
Top Semillon: David Nieuwoudt Ghost Corner Semillon 2009
Top Red Blend: Dieu Donné Cross Collection Merlot/Cabernet 2008
Top Merlot: Klein Roosboom Merlot 2009
Top Shiraz: Anura Syrah Limited Release 2007
Top Cabernet Sauvignon: Bon Courage Inkara Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Top Cap Classique Sparkling Wine: La Motte Methode Cap Classique Brut 2008
Top Port: Bergsig Cape LBV 2001
Top Muscat: Nuy White Muscadel 2005
Top Natural Sweet Wine: Lourensford Winemakers Selection Noble Late Harvest 2009


NEXT ON FOOD24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.