Allergic to soy sauce? Here are 5 alternatives to try
Love the umami flavours of soy sauce, but can’t digest it? Here are some soy substitutes.
Whose pantry is complete without yummy soy sauce that you can add to stir-fry, or have with sushi or delicious dumplings? Well, some of us are either trying to watch our sodium intake, have soy, gluten or wheat allergies associated with factors like celiac disease, or are just generally curious about alternatives.
Here’s a list of soy substitutes that are just as great as the original.
General soy substitutions
Another pantry staple, Worcestershire sauce contains a blend of malt vinegar, anchovies, spices, sugar, salt, garlic, onions, tamarind extract and molasses. It has the same umami quality as soy sauce but much less sodium and no soy or gluten.
A great alternative to soy sauce is coconut aminos sauce, which is soy-free, gluten-free and vegan. It’s made from fermented coconut sap. It’s a little bit sweeter, but it’s also lower in sodium (about 90 milligrams per teaspoon compared to 290 milligrams in soy sauce).
Asian fish sauce
Use this to enhance the flavours of all your dishes, not just fish. Find it in your local supermarkets and use it to amp up your food, unless you’re also allergic to seafood.
Organic tamari sauce
Very similar to soy sauce, organic tamari sauce is slightly thicker, richer and less salty. It has a distinctively mellow flavour and can be used in many dishes and as a condiment. Depending on the brand, it’s usually wheat- and GMO-free.
Dried shitake mushrooms
Rehydrating the mushrooms in water, then using that soaking liquid in place of soy sauce, really adds a lot of flavour to the food you’re making. It’s not quite the same as the other alternatives on this list, but it’s an interesting take.
Soy milk alternatives
If you’re looking for a dairy-free alternative that isn’t soy milk, try one of these:
– Almond milk
– Cashew milk
– Hemp milk
– Pea milk
– Rice milk
– Oat milk
– Coconut milk
If you’re vegan and allergic to soy, no stress – there are still alternatives for you too.
Seitan is a popular choice for many meat-free diners as it’s packed with protein. This one is still made from wheat gluten, so you’ll need to avoid if you’re gluten intolerant. Seitan is often used to make vegan burger patties, deli slices, steak, kebabs, curries and stir-fries.
Well, legumes to be exact. Black beans, kidney beans, chickpeas and lentils are great alternatives to soy products and provide just as much of a protein punch! They can be incorporated into salads and soups, or into mains like burritos and nachos.
Nuts and seeds
You don’t have to get all your protein and iron needs from tofu. Almonds, cashews and pistachios are great sources of protein and iron. Walnuts, also protein-rich, offer good amounts of omega-3 fatty acids, too. Plus, you can buy them in peanut butter form and add it to smoothies, or spread it on veggies and crackers.
What are your tips and tricks for soy substitutes? Tell us in the comments below.