The 'Chefs who Share' 2015 culinary teams announced

Including the Young Chefs who Share Award finalists.

09 Sep 2015

9 September 2015 - Cape Town

The 7 Young Chef Award finalists presented their canapés to the media and guests last night at an event hosted by 'Young Chef Award' ambassador Lentswe Benghu. The level of the entries was astounding with original ideas, incredible flavour combinations and amazing attention to detail in each of the 7 canapés.

These innovative canapé creations  have earned the 7 aspiring chefs a spot in the star-studded kitchen of the black-tie charity gala ‘Chefs who share – the ART of giving’, to take place in the Cape Town City Hall on Thursday 10 September 2015.

Last night at the media event the 7 'Young Chef Award' finalists found out who they would be paired with for the main event come Thursday. They will also spend the next 2 days based in the kitchens of the celebrity chef team they have been paired with. Here they will be judged on their skills as well as team work and other champion qualities.

The 7 teams are as follows:

Team 1:
Christo Pretorius (The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa)
Virgil Kahn (Indochine @ Delaire Graff Estate)
Young Chef: Marisa Botes (Pierneef à la Motte)
Canapé entry: ‘Small & In-between’

Team 2:
Malika van Reenen (Cape Grace)
Gregory Czarnecki (The Restaurant at Waterkloof)
Young Chef: Anand Bhana (Hartford House)
Canapé entry: ‘Ocean Adventure’

Team 3:
Rudi Liebenberg (Mount Nelson)
Marthinus Ferreira (DW Eleven-13)
Young Chef: Ludwig van Biljon (Indochine @ Delaire Graff Estate)
Canapé entry: ‘Singaporean Laksa panna cotta’

Team 4:
Michelle Theron (Pierneef à la Motte)
Bertus Basson (Overture @ Hidden Valley)
Young Chef: Etienne Wessels (Bosman’s Restaurant @ Grande Roche)
Canapé entry: ‘Motion of the ocean’

Team 5:
Garth Almazan (Catharina’s @ Steenberg)
Darren Badenhorst (Grande Provence)
Young Chef: Germaine Esau (Makaron @ Majeka House)
Canapé entry: ‘Beef in the vines under African skies’

Team 6:
Scot Kirton (La Colombe)
Chantel Dartnall (Mosaic @ The Orient)
Young Chef: Jamie-Lee Saunders (Red Indigo Restaurant @ Grootbos)
Canapé entry: ‘Pink peppercorn macaroon with duck liver pâté and candied apples’

Team 7:
Chris Erasmus (Foliage)
Jürgen Schneider (Springfontein Eats)
Young Chef: Edna Visser (The Restaurant at Waterkloof)
Canapé entry: ‘The land, the sea & the sky’

The winner of of the Young Chef Award will be announced on Thursday night!


You might also Like

NEXT ON FOOD24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.