Top 10 Sauvignon Blancs revealed

The 2012 winners are...

14 Sep 2012

The FNB Top Ten Sauvignon Blancs were revealed yesterday at a gala lunch at Nitida Wine Farm. Chosen from a shortlist of 20 published last month, amongst the noteworthy achievements were:

Clos Malverne in for the second year running with the same wine.

Simonsig making their first venture into the world of Sauvignon Blanc awards having already proved their worth in various other wine categories over the years.

Du Toitskloof achieving Top Ten with a R30 wine of which 2.2 million litres is made every year

Having tasted all 20, I would say these are mostly worthy winners although I, and quite a few others, was surprised not to see Saronsberg make the final 10.

Favourite wine from the Top Ten was probably the most expensive – the MM Louw from Diemersdal - but if my bank manager only allows me to drink Du Toitskloof this summer, I shall be a happy Cathy indeed.

The 2012 winners (7 from the 2012 vintage and 3 from 2011) are:

Clos Malverne 2011

De Morgenzon DMZ 2012

Diemersdal MM Louw 2011

Driehoek 2012

Du Toitskloof 2012

Groote Post 2012

Lomond Pincushion 2011

Neethlingshof Single Vineyard 2012

Sunbird 2012

Virgin Earth Pepper Tree 2012

Read more on: wine awards  |  sauvignon blanc

You might also Like

NEXT ON FOOD24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.